Durham FA Awards

Volunteers recognised for great work at Durham FA Awards

Volunteers from Leagues, Clubs and other organisations affiliated with the Durham FA Football Family, received awards at the Association’s Annual Awards Evening held at the Emirates International Cricket Ground, Durham on Thursday 20th September 2018 as a thank you for the many hours, effort and dedication they have put into their voluntary roles which provide an opportunity for so many to participate in football at the grassroots level.

Over 80 people attended the evening which began with the presentation of the FA Grassroots Football Awards for Leagues, Clubs, Match Officials and Volunteers followed by awards for the County FA Under 18 Representative Squads achievements of the 2017/18 Season. The evening was finished off with the awards for Long Service in administration to football for over 30, 40 and 50 years presented to some very deserving volunteers from across the County, the total number of hours was in excess of 520.

Each of the winners and runners up were announced by Company secretary, John Topping and they were presented with a framed certificate and glassware from Vice Chairman of the Durham FA, Ronnie Coleman.

Durham FA Company Secretary John Topping thanked all who attended and the Durham FA staff for the preparation in making the event so successful, and added that if anyone is aware of people with Long Service they should contact the office for an application.

For a link to photos from the event, please click here. Information on grassroots football is also shared on Twitter by following @DurhamFA at www.twitter.com/DurhamFA , Facebook at www.facebook.com/DurhamCountyFA and Instagram at www.instagram.com/DurhamCountyFA . Alternatively, E-Mail info@DurhamFA.com or call 0191 3872929 (Governance) or 0191 3872928 (Development)


FA Grassroots Football Awards

FA Charter Standard Club of the Year
Winner: Newton Aycliffe Youth FC
Runner Up: Shincliffe Juniors FC

Coach of the Year
Winner: John McGuinness (Shincliffe Juniors FC)
Runner Up: Paul Stabler (Hartlepool Pools Youth)

Community Project of the Year
Winner: South Tyneside Ability FC
Runner Up: Durham United FC

Grounds Team of the Year

Winner: Mark Sherriff & Scott Walters (Washington AFC)
Runner Up: Bob Boustead, John Nesbitt, Fred Elliott (Gateshead Cleveland Hall CA)

Match Official of the Year
Winner: Stephen Leonard

Respect Award
Winner: Jamie Williams (South Shields FC)

Supporter of the Year
Winner: Karen McCue (Gateshead Rutherford AFC)
Runner Up: Rod Allen

Volunteer of the Year
Winner: David Parkinson (Esh Winning FC)
Runner Up: Peter Hilton (Shotton Colts FC)

Young Volunteer of the Year
Winner: Ella Walker (Durham United FC)
Runner Up: Theo Weiss (Velocity FC)


Durham County FA Under 18 Representative Team

Squad: Jack Brown, Bradley Burns, Craig Ellison, Dane Eltringham, Cieran Jackson, Ryan Kirby, Joseph McGill, Shahban Mohammed, Kireon Parnaby, Jordan Patterson, Jake Petitjean, Bailey Prudhoe, Jack Ramage, Matthew Ridley, Ellis Tait, Arron Thompson, Bradley Thompson

Management Team:

Manager: Jim Thompson
Ian Raine
Curtis Taylor
Ken Riley
Goalkeeping Coach:
Iain Longstaff
Martin Richards

Long Service Awards

Over 30 Years’ Service to Football Administration

Clifford Alderson
Ken Collins
Rob Coxon
Raymond Griffiths
Gary Reid
Vincent Williams

Over 40 Years’ Service to Football Administration
Jim Sinclair

Over 50 Years’ Service to Football Administration
Ernest Burliston
Derek Elliott
Colin Coulthard
Raymond Snaith
Thomas Lye
Peter Maguire

Click Here for All Award Photos

Click Here For Award Videos