DCFA Womens League To Trial Temporary Dismissals


The Football Association has announced the 32 grassroots leagues that will trial Temporary Dismissals – more commonly known as ‘sin bins’ – during the 2017-18 season.

From Step 7 of the National League system and below 130 grassroots leagues registered an interest in the pilot scheme and a mixture of male, female, adult, youth, Saturday and Sunday leagues across the country have been chosen to take part.

The scheme was originally conceived following a decision by the International Football Association Board [IFAB] which gave National Associations the ability to implement sin bins at grassroots level.
Whilst given discretion whether to use the scheme for all cautions, or selected cautions, The FA chose to focus on matters of dissent, which amounted to 25 per cent of all cautions during the 2016-17 season and directly supports the Respect programme.

It is anticipated that the pilot scheme will deal with misconduct on the day, result in fewer cautions for dissent overall and improve match-day experiences, not only for referees, but for all involved in the game.

Mark Ives, FA head of judicial services, said: “I am encouraged by the level of enthusiasm from County FA’s, leagues, clubs and referees and in their collective commitment to make a difference to our great game at a local level. I look forward to seeing a positive impact during the course of the season.”

John Topping, Company Secretary of Durham FA, said: "The Association is delighted that the Durham County FA Women's League has been selected for the pilot scheme and following a meeting held with Clubs and Match Officials it is hoped that the scheme will have a positive effect regarding dissent."

The leagues below have been selected:

• Anglian Combination League
• Army Football League Massey
• Birmingham & District Football League
• Bolton, Bury & District Football League
• Chester & Wirral Football League
• Cumberland County League
• Devon and Exeter Football League
• Dorset Premier League
• Durham County FA Women’s League
• Evesham & District Sunday Football League
• Gloucestershire County Women's League
• Gloucestershire Northern Senior League
• Hertfordshire Senior County League
• Hitchin Sunday League
• Surrey Primary Youth League
• Taunton & District Saturday League
• Jersey Football Combination
• JJ Jones Builders Duchy League
• Liverpool County FA Premier League
• Mid Sussex Football League
• Mid Sussex Youth & Minor Football League
• Midwest Counties Female
• North Staffs Youth League
• Nottinghamshire Senior Football League
• Notts. Amateur Alliance
• Peterborough & District Football League
• Potteries & District Sunday League
• Sevenoaks and District Football League
• Sheffield & District Junior Sunday League
• Southern Amateur League
• Trelawny League
• Warrington Sunday Football League

Durham County FA Social Hub
County League Contact Info 2
Durham County FA Leagues and Cups