Durham County FA Awards 2017

Volunteers Rewarded at the Durham County FA Awards 2017

Volunteers from Leagues, Clubs and other organisations affiliated with the Durham County FA Football Family, received awards at the Association’s...

Over 70 people attended the evening which began with the presentation of Durham County FA Respect and Fair Play Awards followed by the FA Community Awards for Leagues, Clubs and Volunteers. The evening was finished off with the awards for Long Service in administration to football for over 30, 35 and 40 years presented to some very deserving volunteers from across the County, the total number of hours was in excess of 540.

Each of the winners and runners up were announced by Company secretary, John Topping and they were presented with a framed certificate and glassware from Vice Chairman of the Durham County FA, Ronnie Coleman.

The awards were completed when Ronnie Coleman presented Edward Popple, Kenneth Russell, Ray Beswick and Robert Paterson with glassware and certificate from the County FA in recognition of 50 years service to football.

Durham County FA Company Secretary John Topping thanked all who attended and the Durham County FA staff for the preparation in making the event so successful, and added that if anyone is aware of people with Long Service they should contact the office for an application.

For a link to photos from the event, please click here. Information on grassroots football is also shared on Twitter by following @DurhamFA at www.twitter.com/DurhamFA , Facebook at www.facebook.com/DurhamFA and Instagram at www.instagram.com/DurhamCountyFA . Alternatively, E-Mail info@DurhamFA.com or call 0191 3872929 (Governance) or 0191 3872928 (Development)

FA Respect Awards

Winner: Bishop Juniors FC

Winner: Shincliffe Juniors FC

Winner: Stockton Sunday League


FA Community Awards sponsored by McDonalds

Best Inclusive Project
Winner: Middleton Rangers

FA Charter Standard Club of the Year
Winner: Stockton Hardwick Social Club FC
Runner Up: Darlington 21st All Stars

FA Charter Standard Development Club of the Year
Winner: Lumley FC (Regional Winner)
Runner Up: Durham United FC

FA Charter Standard Community Club of the Year
Winner: Felling Magpies Youth
Runner Up: Deerness Valley Youth FC

FA Charter Standard League of the Year
Winner: Stockton Sunday League

Young Volunteer of the Year
Winner: Ben Holbrook (Gateshead Rutherford AFC)
Runner Up: Courtney Mole (Bishop Auckland Girls FC)

Coach of the Year
Winner: Chris Burton (Norton & Stockton Ancients)
Runner Up: Martin Bondarenko (Darlington 21st All Stars)

Outstanding Contribution to Community Football
Winners: Justin Laidler (South Tyneside Ability FC)
Runner Up: Sara Coxon (Gateshead Rutherford AFC)

Long Service Awards

Over 30 Years’ Service to Football Administration
Michael Hunt
Robert Tomlin
Les Waters

Over 35 Years’ Service to Football Administration

Harry Gilbert
Kevin Oliver
Ian Hutton

Over 40 Years’ Service to Football Administration
John Priestley
George Wood
Selwyn Heslop

Over 50 Years’ Service to Football Administration
Edward Popple
Kenneth Russell
Ray Beswick
Robert Peterson

Related News

View All